#STABSummerReading: June 2018

Our community is sharing their summer reading on social media using #stabsummerreading! Follow along on Instagram, Twitter, or on the St. Anne’s-Belfield School Summer Reading page. You can share your #STABSummerReading by posting your book covers, selfies, reviews, recommendations, or just snapshots of you enjoying a good book wherever you might be reading this summer. Post […]

Read More

Insta Review: Once Was a Time, by Leila Sales

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! For fans of Vanessa Stead’s When You Reach Me, Once was a Time offers a similar whirlwind story of unexpected time travel and the surprise ramifications. Charlotte is living an unremarkable life in England in 1940 when, suddenly… she’s not […]

Read More

Insta Review: All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! Recommended by the same gals that sent Thirteen Reasons Why my way, I gritted my teeth starting All the Bright Places. It seems like this has been the year of teen suicide stories, and I have a hard time stomaching […]

Read More

Insta Review: The Whole Story of Half a Girl, by Veera Hiranandani

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it!  Half Indian, half Jewish, half popular, half loser, half smart, half failing. Sonia has no idea how to put all of her pieces together. The Whole Story of Half a Girl is a great novel to get girls thinking about […]

Read More

Ms. Fitz has Read…June 1, 2018

Sorry for the quiet on the Ms. Fitz Has Read front – what a crazy month May is for teachers! But even though I’ve been silent over here, I’ve been reading furiously behind the scenes. I’m happy to share that in May, I beat my goal of reading 100 books by the end of the […]

Read More

5th Grade Says… The Best Books of the Year, in Exactly 15 Words

Looking for something great to read this summer? Read on to find out the books that 5th grade says were the best of the 2017-2018 school year! Pernille Ripp, teacher and literature specialist extraordinaire, is generous enough to share her amazing ideas on social media. I’m constantly inspired by her blog posts, Instagram, and Twitter […]

Read More

Insta Review: Far from the Tree, by Robin Benway

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! On the night she should be swaying under the crepe-paper streamers at her homecoming dance, Grace is instead saying goodbye to her newborn daughter as she is whisked away in her adoptive parents’ arms. Thirty minutes away, Maya is texting […]

Read More

Insta Review: Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! What is it like to grow up in a sea of Russian nationalist propaganda? We all like to think that we have a clear picture of right and wrong and would inherently know to stand up for freedom, but what […]

Read More

Insta Review: Same Sun Here, by Silas House and Neela Vaswani

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! One of the best pen-pal novels I’ve read yet. Meena and River choose each other’s names randomly in a school penpal program, and have no idea what their correspondence will turn into. Her Indian family lives illegally in New York […]

Read More

Insta Review: Out of My Mind, by Sharon Draper

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! Sharon Draper’s Out of My Mind is so beloved, there’s nothing new that I can say about it here. I’ve been waiting for what feels like years to read this novel, but I’m not exaggerating when I say that it […]

Read More