Insta Review: Once Was a Time, by Leila Sales

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! For fans of Vanessa Stead’s When You Reach Me, Once was a Time offers a similar whirlwind story of unexpected time travel and the surprise ramifications. Charlotte is living an unremarkable life in England in 1940 when, suddenly… she’s not […]

Read More

Insta Review: All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! Recommended by the same gals that sent Thirteen Reasons Why my way, I gritted my teeth starting All the Bright Places. It seems like this has been the year of teen suicide stories, and I have a hard time stomaching […]

Read More

Insta Review: The Whole Story of Half a Girl, by Veera Hiranandani

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it!  Half Indian, half Jewish, half popular, half loser, half smart, half failing. Sonia has no idea how to put all of her pieces together. The Whole Story of Half a Girl is a great novel to get girls thinking about […]

Read More

#STABsummerreading 2018

I have an important announcement to make. Gather closely, please: YOU SHOULD READ STUFF THAT YOU LIKE OVER THE SUMMER. I’m talking to you. The kid who is struggling with assigned historical fiction. The student who is tempted to dive into next year’s assigned book list early. The 8th grader who does’t have time to […]

Read More

5th Grade FABLab: Are You Too Young to Start Something?

This post, written by STAB K-8 Computer Science Coordinator Kim Wilkens, originally appeared on techkimstab.tumblr.com.  That was the question we posed to 5th graders this past trimester. Ten of them joined us to prove that, in fact, they are ready to start something. I have been super inspired by the She Started Itfilm and it’s message […]

Read More

Ms. Fitz has Read…June 1, 2018

Sorry for the quiet on the Ms. Fitz Has Read front – what a crazy month May is for teachers! But even though I’ve been silent over here, I’ve been reading furiously behind the scenes. I’m happy to share that in May, I beat my goal of reading 100 books by the end of the […]

Read More

5th Grade Says… The Best Books of the Year, in Exactly 15 Words

Looking for something great to read this summer? Read on to find out the books that 5th grade says were the best of the 2017-2018 school year! Pernille Ripp, teacher and literature specialist extraordinaire, is generous enough to share her amazing ideas on social media. I’m constantly inspired by her blog posts, Instagram, and Twitter […]

Read More

Insta Review: Far from the Tree, by Robin Benway

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! On the night she should be swaying under the crepe-paper streamers at her homecoming dance, Grace is instead saying goodbye to her newborn daughter as she is whisked away in her adoptive parents’ arms. Thirty minutes away, Maya is texting […]

Read More

Saintly Spotlight: Timmy

Welcome to the Saintly Spotlight! The brilliant idea of Jack the library intern, The Saintly Spotlight is an opportunity for St. Anne’s-Belfield School’s most passionate readers to share their reading lives with their school community. All students in grades 5-8 are welcome to apply by customizing a Google Slides template with common reading related questions. […]

Read More

Insta Review: Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! What is it like to grow up in a sea of Russian nationalist propaganda? We all like to think that we have a clear picture of right and wrong and would inherently know to stand up for freedom, but what […]

Read More