The Summer I Unplugged

I sat criss-cross applesauce on the tile floor, the window open in front of me, a hot breeze winding around my legs. Voices drifted in from the table on the patio below, and every few minutes a burst of deep laughter would float up to my ears. Out the window of the ancient home, set […]

Read More

#STABSummerReading: June 2018

Our community is sharing their summer reading on social media using #stabsummerreading! Follow along on Instagram, Twitter, or on the St. Anne’s-Belfield School Summer Reading page. You can share your #STABSummerReading by posting your book covers, selfies, reviews, recommendations, or just snapshots of you enjoying a good book wherever you might be reading this summer. Post […]

Read More

Insta Review: Once Was a Time, by Leila Sales

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! For fans of Vanessa Stead’s When You Reach Me, Once was a Time offers a similar whirlwind story of unexpected time travel and the surprise ramifications. Charlotte is living an unremarkable life in England in 1940 when, suddenly… she’s not […]

Read More

Insta Review: All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! Recommended by the same gals that sent Thirteen Reasons Why my way, I gritted my teeth starting All the Bright Places. It seems like this has been the year of teen suicide stories, and I have a hard time stomaching […]

Read More

Insta Review: The Whole Story of Half a Girl, by Veera Hiranandani

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it!  Half Indian, half Jewish, half popular, half loser, half smart, half failing. Sonia has no idea how to put all of her pieces together. The Whole Story of Half a Girl is a great novel to get girls thinking about […]

Read More

#STABsummerreading 2018

I have an important announcement to make. Gather closely, please: YOU SHOULD READ STUFF THAT YOU LIKE OVER THE SUMMER. I’m talking to you. The kid who is struggling with assigned historical fiction. The student who is tempted to dive into next year’s assigned book list early. The 8th grader who does’t have time to […]

Read More

5th Grade FABLab: Are You Too Young to Start Something?

This post, written by STAB K-8 Computer Science Coordinator Kim Wilkens, originally appeared on techkimstab.tumblr.com.  That was the question we posed to 5th graders this past trimester. Ten of them joined us to prove that, in fact, they are ready to start something. I have been super inspired by the She Started Itfilm and it’s message […]

Read More

Ms. Fitz has Read…June 1, 2018

Sorry for the quiet on the Ms. Fitz Has Read front – what a crazy month May is for teachers! But even though I’ve been silent over here, I’ve been reading furiously behind the scenes. I’m happy to share that in May, I beat my goal of reading 100 books by the end of the […]

Read More

5th Grade Says… The Best Books of the Year, in Exactly 15 Words

Looking for something great to read this summer? Read on to find out the books that 5th grade says were the best of the 2017-2018 school year! Pernille Ripp, teacher and literature specialist extraordinaire, is generous enough to share her amazing ideas on social media. I’m constantly inspired by her blog posts, Instagram, and Twitter […]

Read More

Insta Review: Far from the Tree, by Robin Benway

Insta Review gives you a new book recommendation in under a minute. Go ahead, time it! On the night she should be swaying under the crepe-paper streamers at her homecoming dance, Grace is instead saying goodbye to her newborn daughter as she is whisked away in her adoptive parents’ arms. Thirty minutes away, Maya is texting […]

Read More